Writing the Darkness

‘A Field in England’ (dir. Ben Wheatley,2014)

A dark thought weighed upon my mind

Wanting to take centre stage

So I trapped it in a black-ink bind

and set it down, upon the page.

It sat, alone, on a rigid line

in a lesser, naked form

A substance I could not define

That refused to bend and to conform.

So I wrote around the darkened stain

Where new ideas could grow and thrive

Until the shadow moved again

Gasping, wanting to survive.

When a dark thought weighed upon my mind

I refused to let it take the stage

For shadows are by  light defined,

And wither when etched upon the page.

Leave a Reply

