Onto the Water

sea-water-ocean-waves

I step onto the water,

Looking for Your hand.

Why ask me to walk on water?

It’s hard enough on land.

My only  shelter sits

Upon the sinking sand.

 

In lieu of true union,

I venerate Communion

Because I don’t want to change.

I refuse to be broken

And will only bend

Within a comfortable range.

We know that introspection

Rhymes with self-deception

because the two can be one and the same

when we take the pathetic

And rebrand it ‘authentic’

To protect our guilt and our shame.

We know that life is an arduous race,

and so we tell ourselves that it’s a game.

A jog, not a run-

“Nothing new under the sun!”

We’re ashes (etcetera) when all is done,

So we may as well have some fun.

But when I look upon my work,

And the idols that I’ve enshrined,

I know I need grace

And hope my heart is in place

Because the same can’t be said for my mind.

O, what will be left,

When the chaff is removed,

And I’m  by the fire refined?

Will I see all this dross

As a painful loss

Because of where my soul is aligned?

 

I step onto the water, looking for Your hand.

Why ask me to walk on water?

It’s hard enough on land.

The ocean shifts beneath me

And I wish I was back on the sand.

I’m afraid, but I shouldn’t be:

I’m etched on the palm of Your hand.

Leave a Reply

