Lethargy

There is a gremlin on my back

His name is Lethargy

I cannot tell when he’ll attack

Or when he’ll set me free

 

He has two bulging, hooded eyes

Communicates with grunts and cries

He  seems only to grow in size

That sluggish Lethargy

 

He waits for me while I’m asleep

And holds me back when hills are steep

Disdains the company I keep

That boorish Lethargy

 

And when I settle down to work

He greets me with a knowing smirk

As on my laptop he does lurk

That vexing Lethargy

 

He holds my eyelids down with weights

I slouch back and his pride inflates

While new tricks he contemplates

That irksome Lethargy

 

There is a gremlin on my back

His name is Lethargy

I cannot tell when he’ll attack

Or when he’ll set me free

 

I hope, one day,  that he will leave

And Motivation I’ll retrieve

For all I want is a reprieve

From  stagnant Lethargy

2 thoughts on “Lethargy

Leave a Reply

